Logo temporaire.png
MAS DE LA LUNE

VANESSA AND MATTHIEU COURTAY

Photo V&M MDL 2020.jpg

Located at an altitude of over 300 metres, in the heart of the Agly valley, the Mas de le Lune vineyards benefit from an extremely rich terroir of schist and granitic sand. The old vines that grow there are typical Catalan grape varieties: Grenache Noir, a gourmet grape variety, Macabeo, a very aromatic white grape variety, Mourvèdre, which adds tannins and spicy black fruit aromas, Carignan, that brings power and structure to red wines, as well as Syrah and Grenache Gris.

 

"With her head in the stars and his feet on the ground, they dreamed in the moonlight of a wine respectful of nature and the consumer".

 

That is how Vanessa and Matthieu decided to make a 180-degree turn, leaving their city life after training with Patrick Lescaret from the Causse Marine domain (a biodynamic domain for the past 20 years) and launching the Mas de la Lune in 2017.

 

The adventure began with a passion for wine, a desire to do their part in “taking care” of the planet, and a willingness to support life with natural methods, in tune with the lunar and planetary calendar.

 

The Mas de la Lune is an estate on a human scale: 5 hectares, then 6 and finally 7. No employees, just Vanessa and Matthieu who take care of everything, from the vineyard to the cellar, with one belief: "that wine is made in the vineyard”.

 

"As new winegrowers, we have the opportunity to make bold decisions; we have fun but we know how risky it is to work as naturally as possible without inputs or chemicals, while demanding that our wines be straight and perfect..."

 

They harvest all the grape varieties by hand and in crates. The cultivation method they use is biodynamic ands as natural as possible from the vineyard to the cellar. They basically use decoctions of plants, in respect of the environment and the consumer.

 

The Grenache, Macabeo and Carignan vines have an average age of 60 to 90 years old. The land is 5.8 hectares with an average yield of 15 hl/hectare. The number of bottles produced per year varies between 12,000 and 15,000.

For more information, visit their website.

 

PRODUCTS
(Private importation - Spring 2021)
olala png.png

Ohlala

Pink Wine - Bio

Fruity and tasty, this rosé of gastronomy will be appreciated as an aperitif, on grilled meats, cheese, or white meats.

 

Private importation.

Boxes of 6.

Price per bottle

$36.64

Logo temporaire.png
MAS DE LA LUNE

VANESSA ET MATTHIEU COURTAY

Photo V&M MDL 2020.jpg

Situées à plus de 300 mètres d’altitude, au cœur de la vallée de l’Agly, les vignes du Mas de le Lune bénéficient d’un terroir extrêmement riche de schistes et d’arènes granitiques. Les vieilles vignes qui le caractérisent correspondent à un encépagement typiquement catalan. On retrouve ainsi le Grenache Noir, cépage gourmand, le Macabeu, cépage blanc très aromatique, le Mourvèdre, qui apporte des tanins et des arômes de fruits noirs épicés, le Carignan, qui apporte de la puissance et de la structure aux vins rouges ainsi que la Syrah et le Grenache Gris.

 

« Elle avait la tête dans les étoiles, il avait les pieds sur Terre, au clair de la Lune ils ont rêvé un vin respectueux de la nature et du consommateur »

 

C’est ainsi que Vanessa et Matthieu décident d’un virage à 180 degrés et quittent leurs vies de citadins après s’être formés auprès de Patrick Lescaret du domaine Causse Marine (Domaine en biodynamie depuis 20 ans) et qu’en 2017 le Mas de la Lune fit ses premiers pas …

 

La passion du vin, l’envie de contribuer à leurs petits niveaux au « prendre soin » de la planète, une envie d’accompagner la vie par des méthodes naturelles, au diapason du calendrier lunaire et planétaire; l’aventure démarrait…

 

Un domaine à dimension humaine, 5 hectares, devenus 6 puis 7: sans employé, Vanessa et Matthieu gèrent tout de la vigne au chai avec une conviction : « le vin se fait à la vigne. »

 

« Être néo-vignerons nous offre la possibilité de faire preuve d’audace dans nos choix car nous nous amusons, la prise de risques est grande puisque nous travaillons le plus naturellement possible sans intrants ni chimie, tout en exigeant de nos vins qu’ils soient droits et sans déviance… »

 

Ils vendangent tous les cépages à la main et en cagettes. La méthode de culture qu’ils pratiquent est biodynamique, de la vigne au chai, essentiellement des décoctions de plante, elle se veut la plus naturelle possible: respectueuse de l’environnement et du consommateur.

 

L’âge moyen des vignes varie entre 60 et 90 ans pour leurs grenaches, macabeu et carignan. Surface de 5,8 hectares , rendement moyen 15hl/hectare. Le nombre de bouteilles produites par année varie entre 12 000 et 15 000.

Pour en savoir davantage, visitez leur page site Internet.

PRODUITS
olala png.png

Ohlala

Vin Rosé - Bio

Fruité et gourmand, ce rosé de gastronomie s’appréciera
aussi bien à l’apéritif, sur des grillades, du fromage qu’avec des viandes blanches.

 

Importation privée.

Caisses de 6 bouteilles.

Prix par bouteille:

36,64$