logo beta.png
MAS GUALLAR

CAMILA OPAZO

Camila Opazo2.jpg

Mas Guallar which was built in 1968 had always been a wine-growing estate. Today, it consists of a house, a guesthouse, a wine-making cellar and a maturing cellar and is surrounded by scrubland and 2.5 hectares of bare land meant for future experimental vines and white grape varieties. The current vines are spread over 5 hectares: 1.7 hectare on Maury and 3.3 hectares on Banyuls-sur-Mer. 

The estate was purchased by Camila Opazo in 2018 and she turned it in a vineyard. The young winemaker’s philosophy is to produce handcrafted wines to maintain close contact with the wine and the vine. She makes small plot wines to work on and compare the two extreme terroirs of the Eastern Pyrenees amphitheater: the small Corbières and the Albera Massif. 

Camila left her native Chile when she was 18 to join her brother in Bordeaux. At that time, nothing prepared the young woman for her future career, as she knew almost nothing about wine and did not speak a word of French. The trigger event was an internship at a Grand Cru in Pessac Léognan. Today, she is rediscovering vine growing as well as organic and biodynamic agriculture and promises us true, environmentally and terroir-friendly wines.

For more information, visit their website.

 

PRODUCTS
(Private importation - 2021)

logo beta.png
MAS GUALLAR

CAMILA OPAZO

Camila Opazo2.jpg

Le Mas Guallar, construit en 1968, a toujours été un domaine viticole. Composé  aujourd'hui d’une maison, d’un gîte, d’un chai de vinification et d’un chai d’élevage, il est entouré de garrigues et de 2,5 hectares de terre nue appartenant au domaine pour y planter de futures vignes expérimentales et des cépages blancs. Les vignes actuelles sont réparties sur 5 hectares : 1,7 hectare sur Maury et 3,3 hectares sur Banyuls-sur-Mer. 

Le domaine a été racheté en 2018 par Camila Opazo qui en a fait un vignoble. La philosophie de la jeune vigneronne est de produire des vins artisanaux afin de maintenir un contact intime avec le vin et la vigne. Elle réalise des vins parcellaires pour travailler sur le comparatif des deux terroirs extrêmes de l’amphithéâtre des Pyrénées orientales: les petites Corbières et le massif des Albères. 

Camila est originaire du Chili, pays qu’elle a quitté à l’âge de 18 ans pour aller rejoindre son frère à Bordeaux. À ce moment, rien ne préparait la jeune femme à sa future carrière, elle qui ne connaissait presque rien au vin et ne parlait pas français. C’est un stage auprès d’un grand cru à Pessac Léognan qui s’est avéré l’élément déclencheur. Aujourd’hui, elle redécouvre la vigne ainsi que l’agriculture biologique et biodynamique et nous promet des vins authentiques, dans le respect de l’environnement et du terroir. 

Pour en savoir davantage, visitez leur page site Internet.

PRODUITS
(importation privée - 2021)